Skip to the daf
טוען את הדף…
Skip to the text

מלמד להועיל חלק ב 28

Melammed Lehoil Part II · Chapter 28

‹›
  1. 1

    צור הערשטעללונג דעז קאזעז ברוכט מאן איינע קולטור פאן באציללען, דיא דורך איבער - אימפפען פאן איינער באציללענהאלטיגען מילך צור אנדערן ערצויגט ווירד. ווענן וויר איינע כשר - מילך פיר אונזערן קאזע האבען, זא מוסס איין קליינעז קוואנטום ניכט - כשר באציללענהאלטיגע מילך הינאיינקאממען, אום דען קאזע צו ערצויגען. עז האנדעלט זיך צוואר נור אום 1 דעציליטער אונטער 100 צטר., אבער עז איזט איין דבר המעמיד, ווענן אויך נור איין איסור דרבנן. איך מיינע נון, דאס מאן עז דאך ערלויבען קאנן, ווייל דער דבר המעמיד ניכט דיא מילך זאנדערן דיא באציללען אדער פילצע זינד, דיא נור אין דער מילך אין ריין - קולטור ערצויגט ווערדען. ווירדען זיא מיר ערלויבען, דיא ראהמקאזע אויף דיעזע ארט מיט צוזאטץ איינעז קליינען קוואנטומז ניכט - כשר מילך הערצושטעללען? ע"כ לשון השאלה ממהור"ר אשר הכהן אבדק"ק באזעל.

    In order to produce cheese, one needs a bacterial culture, which is obtained by inoculation from one [receptacle of] - bacteria-containing - milk into another. If we use kosher milk (chalav Yisrael) for our cheese, a small quantity of non-kosher, bacteria-containing milk must thus be added to manufacture the cheese. Granted, it is only a matter of 1 dl per hundredweight, but it is a davar hama'amid (additive that prolongs the shelf life or preserves the consistency of food to which it is added, which is not annulled by other ingredients even if it only constitutes a tiny percentage of the final product), although only a Rabbinic prohibition. Now, I think it may still be permissible, because the davar hama'amid is not the milk [itself], but the bacteria or fungi, which are merely cultivated in the milk to obtain a pure culture. Would you permit me to manufacture cream cheese by this method, with the addition of a small quantity of non-kosher milk? Up until here the wording of the query from our teacher, Rabbi Arthur Cohn, the rabbi of Basel.

  2. 2

    תשובה:
    א. מ"ש שאינו אסור מחמת דבר המעמיד משום דהחלב אינו מעמיד כי אם הבאציללען או הפילצע הנולדים בחלב אינו כדאי להתיר דהא בעור קיבה ג"כ הבשר אינו מעמיד אלא החומץ (דיא זוירע) הנבלע בבשר. וע"כ צ"ל כיון דחומץ זה גדל בבשר הוי כהבשר עצמו ואסור, וע"כ אוסר משום דבר המעמיד. וא"כ הכא נמי כנראה פילצע אלו גדלים בחלב והוי כהחלב עצמו. ואם באמת ערבו בחלב חלב טמא (דמטעם זה אנו אוסרים חלב של נכרים) אותן פילצע ג"כ אסורים כחלב טמא, וא"כ אוסרים התערובת מחמת דבר המעמיד. אולם אם יש לברר שא"א לגדל אותן פילצע כי אם בחלב טהור ולא בחלב טמא, א"כ אותן פילצע ודאי מחלב טהור נולדו, ואף שהחלב אסור משום שמא עירב בו חלב טמא (והוא דבר שנאסר במנין), מ"מ הפילצע שהם מעמידין מחלב טהור הם והם היתר, והחלב הטמא המעורב אינו מעמיד כלל, וע"כ ימחול מר ויחקור אחר דבר זה ויכתוב לי מה שאמרו הבקיאים בדבר זה.

    Responsa: 1. What you wrote - that it should not be prohibited due to being a davar hama'amid because the milk [itself] is not the davar hama'amid, but the bacteria or fungi which come into existence in the milk - is not sufficient to rule permissively, for in the skin of a stomach [used in traditional cheese-making, cf. Avodah Zarah 35a] it is also not the flesh which is the coagulant, but the acid absorbed in the flesh. We must therefore conclude that because this acid is secreted by the flesh, it is like the flesh itself and is prohibited, and it in turn necessarily prohibits [the cheese] because of davar hama'amid. Thus, here too, it would seem that these fungi grow in the milk and are like the milk itself. And if the milk has indeed had milk from non-kosher [animals] added to it (for this [possibility] is the reason why we prohibit milk from gentiles), these fungi are also prohibited like milk from non-kosher [animals], and they therefore prohibit the [cheese] mixture due to being a davar hama'amid. However, could it be determined that it is impossible to grow those fungi in a [medium] other than kosher milk, [i.e.] in milk from non-kosher [animals], the fungi would then by necessity have come into existence in kosher milk, and despite the milk being prohibited due to concern that milk from non-kosher [animals] may have been added to it (which is a decree instituted by a quorum [of sages, which cannot be rescinded]), the fungi - which are the ma'amid - come from kosher milk and are themselves permitted, and the admixed milk from non-kosher [animals] is not a ma'amid at all. Thus, you will indulge me and investigate this matter and write to me what the experts say on this matter.

  3. 3

    ב. אך עדיין יש לפקפק בדבר דהא אין מבטלין איסור לכתחילה וכאן מערב לכתחילה, אמנם כאן אין כוונתו לבטל אלא לתקן הגבינה ע"י הפילצע המותרין, ויש בזה פלוגתא בין צ"צ ובין מג"א סי' תמ"ז ס"ק מ"ה, ובדרבנן יש להכריע לקולא.

    2. Still, one could object that is isn't permissible to annul prohibited things intentionally, and here, the mixing is intentional. However, here, the intention isn't to annul the prohibited thing, but to make cheese by means of the permitted fungi, and this is subject to a dispute between the צ"צ (?) and the Magen Avraham in §447 section 45, and in Rabbinic [prohibitions], one may decide leniently.

  4. 4

    ג. גם אין חשש לענ"ד משום מה שהביא המג"א סי' תמ"ב סוף ס"ק א' בשם הרשב"א דכל שעיקרו כך אינו בטל, דזה לא הוי אלא דרבנן, ובנ"ד הוי תרי דרבנן. גם יש לצרף דאפשר דאם א"א לעשות הפילצע אלא מחלב טהור אין לחוש שמא עירבו חלב טמא, וע"כ אם הדבר כן יש להתיר, ויברר דבר זה כמ"ש באות א'.

    3. Furthermore, there is no concern in my humble opinion from what the Magen Avraham brings in §442 at the end of section 1 in the name of the Rashba - that everything which is - for this is only a Rabbinic [stringency], and in our case, there are two Rabbinic stringencies [which do not have to be observed simultaneously]. We can also add the possibility that if it is impossible to cultivate the fungi in another [medium] than milk from a kosher [animal], we must not be concerned that milk from a non-kosher [animal] may have been admixed with it, therefore, if this is indeed the case, one may rule permissively, and he shall clarify this matter as I have written in section 1.

Hebrew: Frankfurt am Main, 1926-1932 · Public Domain

English: Sefaria Community Translation

Texts from Sefaria.